Begin early to become a Taekwondo world champion

Most world champions start early. If you have a child who wants to become a world champ, make them start early. While there is no ideal age for starting, but most experts believe that small children can start from their 5th year. At this age, kids have elastic and lighter bodies and more importantly, they have lots of energy. Take your child to a good and reputed Taekwondo school to get them interested in this sport.

There is another reason why kids need to be initiated into this sport early. In their formative years, they don’t have to worry about careers, education, jobs, and other kinds of stress. They are full of energy and they treat every challenge as fun. When they continue seeing the fun in taekwondo exercises, they are more likely to succeed later in their lives. Lastly, by starting early, their bodies are accustomed to the hard knocks that are an essential part of this sport.

Taekwondo world champions

  1. There are 9 levels of taekwondo before the Black Belt
  2. There are 9 levels of Black Belt

The stages of taekwondo preparation are divided into levels or Kup. Beginners start at the 9h Kup or the White Belt. It is followed by the 8th Kup or the Yellow Belt, and then by the Orange Belt or 7th Kup. The 6th and 5th Kups are the Green and Blue Belts. After you have passed the Blue Belt, you have to pass the Purple, Brown, and Red Belts. The next and the final Kup is the 9th Kup or the Black Belt.

To become a master in this sport, you should cross all the levels of the Black Belt. These levels are called dan. You can find out the dan of every Black Belt holder by just looking at the number of gold bars on his belt. Dans having 1-3 levels sometimes assist their Master in teaching taekwondo. Experts having 4-6 levels are called Master while those having 7-9 bars are called Grand Master. Sometimes, level 10 is awarded to exceptional taekwondo experts.

History of Taekwondo champions

The first students of Taekwondo were some members of the Korean Air Force. The first Taekwondo body was created in 1963, and by 1970 this sport had spread to all corners of the world. The World Taekwondo Federation was set up in 1973 and the same year the first world championship was held. This sport was introduced as a demonstration sport in the Seoul Olympics (1988) and was formally accepted as a performance sport in the 2000 Olympics.

  • Taekwondo originated in or around 53 B.C.
  • The World Taekwondo Federation was set up in 1973.

The World Taekwondo Championship is held every two years. However, there have been some occasions when this tournament was held in successive years. The first championship was held in the country of its origin: Korea. That year was 1973 and the winner was South Korea. The next championship was also held in the same country and yet again South Korea bagged the overall honours. Over the years, South Korea has bagged almost all the men’s world titles in this sport.

Women made an entry in this sport in the 1987 world championships. That year, the tournament was organized in Barcelona, Spain, and the winner was South Korea. With the exception of China in 2009, all the other women world championships have gone to South Korea. The top 4 taekwondo world champions (men and women) are South Korea, Iran, Spain, Chinese Taipei, and Turkey. Korea is heads and shoulders above the rest – so far it has won more than 120 gold medals.

A brief history of taewkondo champions

  • Taekwondo was accepted as an Olympic sport in 2000
  • This sport was inducted in the Amateur Athletic Union in 1974

Like with the World Taekwondo Championships, South Korea is also the dominant player in the Olympic version. So far, it has won 12 gold, 2 silver, and 5 bronze medals. It is closely followed by China (7 gold, 1 silver, and 1 bronze medals). The number 3 spot is held by the United States with 2 gold, 2 silver, and 5 bronze medals. The United States is followed closely by Mexico with a similar number of medals.

In the women’s section, other nations have stolen a march over Korea. For example, in the 49-57 kg section of the London Olympics, one of the champions was not a Korean but an Egyptian player. Her name was Hedaya Wahba. The other champions were Jade Jones of Great Britain, Yuzhou Hou of China, and Marlene Harnois of France. In the Rio Games, the top players were Jade Jones, Hedaya Wahba, Eva Calvo of Spain, and Kimla Alizadeh of Iran.

  • Jade Jones and Hedaya Wahba were the top women players in the Rio and London Olympics.
  • Hedaya Wahba and Kimla Alizadeh shared the bronze medal in the Rio Games.

In individual performances (women), athletes from several other countries have stolen the show. Jae Eun Jong from Korea won the gold in the 49-57 kg category in the 2000 games. Ji Won Jang from Korea won the gold medal in the same category in the 2008 Olympics. In the Beijing Olympics, Korea yet again won the gold medal in this category. If we look at other weight categories for women, we see other nations like France and the Dominican Republic doing very well.