Vision awards dinner 2017

awardsOn the 3rd of February 2018, the Vision Taekwon-Do Association held its annual Awards Ceremony in the form of a black tie dinner at the Mercure Hotel Tunbridge Wells. The event brought together 66 members of the Vision family to celebrate our individual and collective achievements of 2017.

The event was hosted by Mr Steve Lobley who acted as the Master of Ceremonies and ensured the evening ran smoothly. After a brief introduction the awards began with the overall winners of each age category from the 2017 Vision League Competitions. Mr Dunn presented each winner with a trophy as follows:

  • Best Under 10 Male – Sonny Wood (Alton) – 8G, 0S, 0B
  • Best Under 10 Female – Elixir Biron-Monnier (Crowborough) – 3G, 3S, 2B
  • Joint Best 10-13 Male – Joshua Costelo (Ash/Aldershot) – 3G, 2S, 1B
  • Joint Best 10-13 Male – Christian Mirandah (Ash/Aldershot) – 3G, 2S, 1B (received on his behalf by Mr Adams)
  • Best 10-13 Female – Jasmine Costello (Ash/Aldershot) – 7G, 2S, 0B
  • Best 14-17 Male – Joshua Connolly (Crowborough) – 5G, 2S, 1B
  • Best 14-17 Female – Isobel Eason-Warner (Tonbridge) – 5G, 0S, 0B
  • Best Adult Male – Dan Hart (Tonbridge) – 2G, 3S, 0B
  • Best Adult Female – Melanie Lusted (Alton) – 5G, 2S, 0B

The individual awards were then followed by the overall schools results presented by the VTA Events Secretary and organiser of the nights ceremony Mr Stuart Longdon.

  • 1st place – Tonbridge 320 points
  • 2nd place – Alton with  235 points
  • 3rd Place – Crowborough with 157 points

Next came the presentation of Degree Certificates for members who had successfully passed their 1st & 2nd degrees during the year. Each student was introduced by their instructor who gave a short testimony before presenting their framed dan certificate. The following received their 1st Degrees and had the opportunity to say a few words if they wished.

  • Donna James 1st
  • Isabella Wessels  1st
  • Gavin Smith 1st
  • Laurence Gale 1st
  • Ellena Lobley 1st
  • Ethan Stopps 1st
  • Jack Smith 2nd
  • Katinka Blauw 2nd

Having successfully kept a little ahead of schedule the first section of the awards was concluded for the meal to be served. After the meal, the awards ceremony was continued. Having enjoyed the three course meal and been served the coffee it was time to continue the awards.

The second half of the awards started with our 3rd -5th degree promotions from 2017. Following a similar format the following received their degree certificates and belts from their instructor who gave a short insight into the individuals character and training history.

  • Richard Hutcheson 3rd
  • Nicholas Edmunds 3rd
  • Paul Davies 4th
  • Stephen Bourne 5th

awards nickNext came the instructor of the year award. Although every VTA instructor works hard for their students throughout the year, the instructors vote for an individual who they believe has gone ‘above and beyond’. For 2017 the instructor of the year award was presented to Master Lear.

The final award of the evening recognises members who have made a special contribution to the VTA over its history. Mr Stephen Bourne was inducted into the VTA Hall of Fame for his many years of service in Taekwon-Do and other martial arts and in particular what he has contributed to VTA over the years.

After completing the presentations, the formal part of the evening was concluded by Mr Lobley. From that point DJ Tom took over. The bar and dance floor were open and everyone was free to dance, mingle and enjoy the rest of the evening. For many midnight and the last dance came around all too soon. Whilst a diehard few remained chatting in the bar until the early hours; most departed for their rooms or home. Many of the attendees had booked rooms in the hotel and so met again for breakfast the following morning.

You can view the photos here.

Be Sociable, Share!